3rd Augustus Aikhomu sworn- in as the new Vice President of Nigeria by President Babangida

4th IBB meets a 13-man delegation of the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) led by its President, Comrade Pascal Bafyau.

5th IBB receives the report of the National Committee on Corruption and other Economic Crimes at Dodan Barracks, Lagos.

8th  Babangida receives the President of Equatorial Guinea, Mr. Obiang Nguema Ngueso on a one-day visit to Nigeria.

11th Police IG, Alhaji Aliyu Attah launches a code of professional conduct for all the ranks of the Nigerian Police Force.

12th IBB swears in new members of the AFRC. They are:

  • John Mark Inienger, General Officer Commanding 2nd Mechanised Division of the

Nigerian Army, Ibadan.

  • Adetunji Olurin
    • General, Officer Commanding 3rd Armoured Division, Jos.
  • Chris Garba

General Officer Commanding 82 Division of the Nigerian Army,


  • Air Commodore Akin Dada

Air Officer Commanding Tactical Air Command, Makurdi.

  • Air Commodore Alamin Dagash

Air Officer Commanding Training Command

  • Brigadier Rufus Kupolati

Quarter-Master General of the Nigerian Army.

  • Brigadier Edward Unimas

Adjutant General of the Nigerian Army.

13th IBB promulgates the Constitution (Suspension and Modification) amendment decree, 1990 to reflect the present composition of the AFRC and the change in designation of some of its members.

14th IBB commissions the multi-million naira Yola International Hotel, the comprehensive health centre, Federal University of Technology, Yola.

17th Babangida declares open a five-day national seminar on integrated rural development.

20th FG approves N450 million naira to state governments as grant to help rehabilitate about 450 oldest secondary schools through out the coun­try.

– IBB begins bilateral talks with Ugandan President and chairman of OAU, President Yoweri Museveni.


27th    IBB commissions N5b projects at Ajaokuta.