8th  President Babangida announces the removal of Col. Mohammed Maina as Governor of Borno State, swears in his successor, Lt. Col. Moham­med Buba Marwa.

14th IBB decorates renowned philanthropist, Sir Mobolajji Bank-Anthony with a medal of the national honour of Commander of the Federal Republic (CFR).

16th The two political parties the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and the National Republic Convention (NRC) elect officials at the local gov­ernment level.

20th President Babangida commissions the 600,000 kilowatts Shiroro Hy­dro-electric project in Minna, Niger State.

21st FG releases 61 detained civilians connected with the April 22nd abor­tive coup.

22nd IBB orders the immediate airlifting of relief materials to Liberian refu­gees.

25th FG Establishes Mass Literacy Commission.

27th Babangida receives the 14- member public Accounts Committee headed by Alhaji Awwal Babayo Shehu at Dodan Barracks.

29th IBB declares open the administrative complex of Command and Staff College, Jaji, Kaduna.