1st President Babangida lifts ban on 11 leaders of the Nigerian Labour congress in a speech   he delivered to commemorate Work­ers’ Day.

They are:

  • Chief Michael Imoudu, Veteran Labour Leader
  • Chief E.A.O. Odeyemi
  • J. U. Akpan
  • J. O. Orotunde
  • Wahaab Goodluck
  • R. A. Ramos
  • P. A. Isagua
  • P.A. Nwaneri
  • Late S. U. Bassey
  • M. J. Sule
  • S. O. Deniran

3rd  Nigeria signs $200m loan agreement with government of the German Democratic Republic.

6th Oyo State gets fund from the Federal Government to purchase yellow
fever vaccines to tackle out-break of the disease in the state.

7th A former Federal Minister in the defunct Civilian Administration, Alhaji
Bello Maitama Yusuf released from detention.

9th Elder statesman, Chief Obafemi Awolowo dies at 78.

10th FG promulgates a new decree formally establishing the Directorate of Food, Roads and Rural Infrastructure and amends the National Coun­cil for Arts and Culture Decree.

12th FG condoles members of the family of Chief Obafemi Awolowo over the death of the elder statesman.

– Federal Government renames University of Ife as Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) to honour late Chief Obafemi Awolowo.

14th First Lady, Mrs Mayam Babangida visits Ikenne to condole the wife of Chief Awolowo.

– Babangida commissions the Nnamdi Azikiwe Press Centre in Lagos.

17th Babangida sends good will message to Christians on the occasion of Easter celebrations.

18th Chairman of the committee set up by the Federal Government to study the report of the Political Bureau submits report.

19th The liquidation of the Nigerian National Supply Company (NNSC) gets President Babangida’s approval.

– The implementation committee on recommendations of the National
Seminar on the National Question in Nigeria submits its report.

20th The Committee of inquiry into the religious disturbances in Kaduna State submits its report to the state government.

  • The State government sets up a committee to draft white paper on the report in one week.

21st IBB approves the appointment of Emir of Kano, Alhaji Ado Bayero as the new chancellor of University of Maiduguri.

24th FG revokes its amendment on the National Minmum Wage Act of 1986.

25th Karibi Whyte tribunal set up by the Federal Government to try those involved in   February 1987 civil disturbance in Kaduna moves to Abuja.

28th IBB sends Eid-El-Fitri message to Nigerians.