2nd 13 – member National Question Implementation Panel constituted.


  • J. E. lnikori – Chairman
  • Claude Ake
  • Jide Osuntokun
  • Alfred Opubo
  • D. M. Uzoigwe
  • Mandi Adamu
  • Sa’ad Abubakar
  • A. E. Afigbo
  • Ayo Bamgbose
  • Peter Lassa
  • Sule Bello
  • Gen. B. M. Haruna (rtd)
  • Gen. R. M. Dumuje (rtd)

– Nigeria and Equatorial Guinea sign defence treaty.

4th President Babangida jets out of the country for medical attention.

5th Lawrence Anini, Nigeria’s most notorious armed robber condemned to death by firing squad.

6th President Babangida operated upon at the American hospital in Paris.

11th Nigeria and Zaire sign an accord in areas of economic, scientific and technical co-operation.

17th Defence Minister and Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff Major General Domkat Bali leads a delegation to see President Babangida at the Ameri­can Hospital in Paris, France.

20th Brigadier Ike Nwachukwu, Minister of Labour announces the National Minimum Wage.