1st AFRC releases Brigadier Mamman Nassarawa detained and tried for his role in the December 20 abortive coup but dismisses him from the Nigerian Army.

10th President Babangida and members of AFRC declare their assets.

15th FG gives directives that NYSC members and other categories of health workers be henceforth posted to the rural areas where their services are mostly needed.

17th FG extendts the validity of Nigerian Passport from two to five years.

18th President Babangida removes Prof. Tam David West as Power and Steel Minister.

23rd FG promulgates Second-Tier Foreign Exchange Decree 1986

5th Nigerian Television Authority (NTA) gets new board.


  • Alhaji Sidi Ali Sirajo
  • Dan Agbese
  • Ify Nzeakor
  • O. Awogboro
  • Rufai Sule
  • Alhaji Adamu Augie
  • Chief Etim Robinson Akpan
  • Director-General of NTA