1st Budget speech

– Political Bureau set up to collate and synthesize contributions of Nige­rians on the search for a new political order.

– FG lifts bans on National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) proscribed by the ousted Buhari government.

6th President Babangida grants two Guardian journalists, Messrs Tunde Thompson and Nduka Irabor, jailed under decree 4 of 1984, presiden­tial pardon.

7th  FG allocates 100 million naira to state governments to rehabilitate and

Purchase materials for schools.

  • Babangida launches 1986 Remembrance Appeal Week for Armed
    Forces and Remembrance Day Celebration at Dodan Barracks, Lagos.

10th Some civilians quizzed for their involvement in the abortive coup of December 20, 1985.

13th Political Bureau inaugurated in Abuja.


  • S. J. Cookey – Chairman
  • S. E. Oyovbaire
  • Oye Oyediran
  • E.O. Awa
  • A. D. Yahaya
  • Rahila Abdullahi Dr. Abdullahi Augic
  • Edwin Madunagu
  • Ola Sani Zaharaddin Prof. E. Uya
  • Pascal Bafyau Mr. Bala Takaya
  • Hilda Adefarasin Alhaji Ibrahim Halilu Mallam Haroun Adamu

– IBB announces 1990 as tentative date for return to democratic govern­ance.

11th President Babangida welcomes Sierra – Leonean Vice President and Minister of Justice, Mr. F. M. Minnah on a technical assistance mission to Nigeria.

15th N60 million recovered from the NTSC big rip-off allegedly involving Col. P.K. Obasa and others.

– IBB launches “Ahmadu Bello”, a book written by a renowned Ameri­can historian, Professor J. N. Paden at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna.

  Babangida confers a post humous award of Grand Commander of the Federal Republic (GCFR) of Nigeria on the late premier of the defunct Northern Region and Sardauna of Sokoto, Sir Ahmadu Bello.

17th  Tribunal exonerates Shagari and Ekwueme of criminal conspiracy

22nd Trial of the December 20 coup suspects begins.


  • Gen. C.B.I. Ndiomu – Chairman


Brig. Y.Y. Kure

Lt. Col. M.N. Bukar

Col. R.M. Kupolati

Group. Capt. A.O. Ikhazobor

Commodore M.A. H. Nyako

Lt. Col. D. Mohammed

Col. E.B. Opaleye

Judge Advocate:

Major A. Kejawa

23rd      NLC President, Alh. Ali Chiroma okays the decision of the Babangida administration to relinquish power on October 1, 1990.

24th      Duro Onabule, Chief Press Secretary to President Babangida announces Cabinet shake – up:

5 Ministers re-assigned. Those re-assigned:

                                                                OLD MINISTRY                  NEW MINISTRY

Air Cmdr H. Abdullahi     –                  Works & Housing                                FCT

Dr. Kalu I. Kalu                  –                  Finance                                                National Planning

S. P. Okongwu –                                      National Planning                                Finance

Prof. Tam David West      –                 Petroleum Resources                          Mines Power & Steel

Alh. Rilwanu Lukman       –               Mines, Power & Steel                        Petroleum Resources

Those who retained their Portfolios:

Rtd Lt. Col. Alani Akinrinade            –        Agriculture

Lt. Col. A. T. Ayuba                           –           Communication

Maj. Gen. Domkat Bali                       –        Defence

Prof. Jibril Aminu                               –          Education

Lt. Col. John Shagaya                         –          Internal Affairs

Rear Admiral Patrick Koshoni            –        Labour

Pro. Bolaji Akinyemi                          –           External Affairs

Prince Bola Ajibola                             –           Justice

Prof. Olikoye Ransome Kuti              –          Health

Alh. Musa Bunu Sheriff         –                       Industry

Lt. Col. Anthony Ukpo                      –            Information

Lt. Col. Ahmed Abdullahi S.             –           Development

Prof. Emmanuel Emovon                    –         Science & Technology

Maj. Gen, Gado Nasko                       –           Trade

Brigadier J. T. Useni                            –          Transport and Aviation

Air Vice-Marshal A.Shekarau             –          Special Duties

New Appointments:

Alhaji Abubakar Umar                        –           Minister of Works & Housing

–  President Babangida sets up committee to examine the implications of Nigeria’s membership of the Organisation of Islamic Conference (OIC).

–  President Babangida swears in 31 federal Permanent Secretaries.