1st Committee of experts constituted to re-examine curricular development of Nigerian universities.

– IBB travels to Minna on a five-day official visit to the state.

4th President Babangida renounces the imposition of state religion on Nigeria.

5th 15 coup plotters found guilty, 10 to be executed by firing squad. They are:

  • Major Gen. Mamman Vasta Retrial:
  • Col. Mike Ecorse
  • Col. Muse Baiting
  • Col. Chris Ocher
  • Major Daniel Bamidele
  • Squadron Leader Martin Luther
  • Wing Commander Ben Ekele
  • Wing Commander A. C. Sakaba
  • Commander A. A. Ogwuji
  • Squadron Leader A. Ajura

Those who received life jail terms are:

  • Col. Mike Effiong
  • Major D. E. West
  • Major T. B. Akwashiki

10 Years Jail:

  • P. O. Odoba
  • Years Jail

Wing Commander J.B. Uku

  • Brigadier Malami Nassarawa (Case to be reviewed)

6th President Babangida congratulates Chief Obafemi Awolowo on his 77th birthday.

7th FG inaugurates a seven-member board of the Food, Road and Rural Infrastructural Directorate in Lagos


  • Air Commodore Larry Koinyam – Chairman (A member of AFRC)
  • A. I. Mabogunje
  • Jerry Gana
  • Adamu Hussaini
  • S. I. Iworar
  • G. A. Makajuola
  • Yusuf Abdullahi
  • Abdullahi Abubakar-Secretary

8th IBB commissions 18 million naira Akure Airport.

11th Babangida visits Kaduna on a one-day official visit.

– FG announces new local government structure.


  • Council chairmen to meet with Governors every 3 months.
  • Five-man panel to take over administration of each local
  • Sole administrators cease to exist.

15th Chief of General Staff, Commodore Ebitu Ukiwe opens 8th Kaduna International Trade Fair.

18th Babangida declares open the activities marking the 100 years of the legal profession in Nigeria organised by the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA).

25th Nigeria and Republic of Benin sign a communiqué for joint eradication of water hyacinth encroaching on the waters of both countries.

27th Tribunal exonerates two former governors indicted in December 22 – coup plot for lack of evidence against them. They are:

  • Group Captain S. Latinwo             –          Kwara
  • Group Captain David Ikpheme –          Ondo

28th Nigeria’s land borders closed for 22 months re-opens except the Nige­rian-Chad border