2nd    New Governors take oath of office.

–        President Babangida addresses the nation on IMF.

10th  AFRC approves the appointment of 22 ministers. They are:

  • Col. Ahmed Abdullahi –          Social Development, Youth, Sports & Culture.
  • Kalu I. Kalu –           Finance.
  • O. Ransome Kuti –           Health.
  • Gen. D.Y. Bali –               Defence and Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff.
  • Jibril Aminu –           Education
  • Bolaji Akinyemi –           External Affairs.
  • Gen. Mamman Vatsa –           Federal Capital Territory.
  • Gen. Alani Akinrinade (rtd) – Agriculture.
  • Col. A.S. Ukpo –           Information.
  • Col. J. N. Shagaya             –           Internal Affairs.
  • Col. A.T. Ayuba –           Communications.
  • Rear Admiral P. Koshoni – Employment, Labour and Productivity.
  • Lawal Mala             –           Industries.
  • Air Vice-Marshall A. I. Shekari –           Special Duties.
  • J. I. Useni                         –           Transport and Aviation
  • Col. Ahmed Abdullahi               –         Social Development, Youth, Sports & Culture.
  • Chu S.P. Okongwu             –           National Planning
  • Emmanuel Emovon –           Science and Technology
  • Gen. M.G. Nasko             –          Trade
  • Tam David West             –           Petroleum Resources
  • Prince Bola Ajibola –          Justice
  • Rilwanu Lukman             –           Mines and Power
  • Air Commodore Hamza Abdullahi – Works and Housing

12th   Swearing in of new ministers

17th   FG sets up nine member special committee to determine the merits and the demerits of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) loan for the country.

Terms of Reference:

The organisation of Public debate on radio and television and stimulat­ing the publication of informed articles in newspapers on the follow­ing related fields

  • Merits and demerits of an IMF loan in Nigeria’s present economic situ­ation having regard to the quantum of funds.
  • Anticipated impact of the adoption of the fund’s adjustment programme on Nigeria’s economy, implications for trade arrears refinancing and debt rescheduling.


  • Abubakar Abdul Kadir – Chairman
  • Ambassador Peter Afolabi – Member
  • Ambassador Olu Adesola – Member
  • Wole Adeosun – Member
  • W. Obi – Member
  • O. Essien –Member
  • Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance -Member Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria-Member
  • R. N. Ezeife – Secretary

22nd   IBB expresses sympathy to President Miguel De La Madrid of Mexico on the earthquake in his country.

24th   President Babangida appoints Chief Duro Onabule as Chief Press Secretary to the President. .

27Th  President Babangida addresses military and police chiefs.