Compiled by Baba Yunus Muhammad


27th Major General Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida becomes new Nigerian Leader following the overthrow of Major-General Muhammadu Buhari’s Government.

28th A 28 member Armed Forces Ruling Council (AFRC) replaces the Supreme Military Council as the highest ruling and policymaking body.


  • Major Gen. Ibrahim Babangida, President and Commander -In – Chief of the Nigerian Armed Forces and Chairman of the Armed Forces Ruling Council (AFRC).
  • Major Gen. Domkat Bali – Defence Minister and Chairman of Joint -Chiefs of Staff.
  • Major Gen. Sani Abacha – Chief of Army Staff.
  • Major Gen. Muhammad Gado Nasko Commander, Corps of
  • Air Vice- Marshall Ibrahim Alfa – Chief of Air Staff.
  • Rear Admiral A. Aikhomu – Chief of Naval Staff.
  • Gen. Mamman Vatsa.
  • Air Vice-Marshal Mohammed Yahaya – AOC TC.
  • Gen. Paul Omu – Commandant, Command and Staff College, Jaji.
  • Commodore Ebitu Ukiwe – Chief of General Staff.
  • Brigadier Peter Adomokhai – General Officer Commanding 1 Mechanised Division, Kaduna.
  • Col. J. N. Shagaya Commander 9th Mechanised Brigade.
  • Col. H. Akilu – DMI Defence & Military Intelligence
  • Col. Tanko Ayuba- Commander Corps of Signal.
  • Etim Inyang,-Inspector client’ of Police.

29th   Re-opens Airports and Seaports earlier closed on the announce­ment of the coup.

–        Releases more detainees.

30th   Swearing in members of Armed Forces Ruling Council (AFRC).

31st    AFRC spokesman Lt. Col. Anthony Ukpo announces names of 19 Governors. They are:-


NAME                                                            STATE

Group Capt. S. Omeruah                               Anambra

Lt. Col. Chris Garuba                                     Bauchi

Lt. Col. John Inienger                                    Bendel

Group Capt. David king                                 Benue

Major Abdul M. Aminu                                 Borno

Col. Dan Archibong                                       Cross River

Lt. Col. Yohana Madaki                               Gongola

Navy Capt. A. Madueke                               Imo

Major Abubakr D. Umar                             Kaduna

Col. Ahmed Daku                                          Kano

Wing Commander N. Umaru                     Kwara

Group Capt. G. Mudashiru                         Lagos

Lt. Col. David Mark                                      Niger

Commander Mike Akhigbe                         Ondo

Lt. Col. Dayo Popoola                                   Ogun

Lt. Col Tunji Olurin                                      Oyo

Lt. Col. Mohammed C. Ali                          Plateau

Lt. Col. Garba Mohammed                         Sokoto

Police Comm. F. Oyakhilome                     Rivers